Direct Messages are private, one-on-one conversations with other people in your community. You can easily start a Direct Message conversation by clicking on the other person's profile picture anywhere that it appears. The Family Directory is often the fastest way to lookup a person when starting a Direct Message conversation. Profile pictures also appear in team messages, parent lists, and other places throughout the app.
Note: It does not matter whether or not the person has uploaded a photo for their profile. Direct Message will still work.
When you click on a profile pic, a Direct Message dialog will appear as shown below. You can type a quick message in the dialog and click the Send button. This will send the message and return to the screen you were viewing. You can also click on the Direct Message link at the bottom of the dialog to view the full conversation between yourself and the other person.
NOTE: If the Send a quick message input box and Direct Message link do not appear it means that the person has not registered for the app and cannot receive Direct Messages.
If you click on the Direct Message link, the full conversation with the selected person will appear including any past messages you have shared. The name of the person will appear at the top of the screen with an "@" in front of their name (e.g. @Kathy). Your Direct Message connections are just like any other group and include a private calendar and file sharing.
The five most recent Direct Message conversations will appear in the left menu. Simply click on the name of a person to resume a conversation with them.